top of page
Search
  • squaretechtraining

Junxiang Lin


How Coronavirus affected my life?


Corona Life

The reality of disease and a pandemic is something humanity has been fighting against since its existence. For example, the Smallpox virus existed for 3,000 years until it was finally eradicated in 1977. Even worse, Tuberculosis has been around for over 3 million years and has not yet been eradicated. Tuberculosis had killed over 1.8 million people in 2015 alone. However, in 2020, neither Smallpox, nor Tuberculosis are the most pressing matters. Instead, Covid19 is the thing on everyone’s mind. As of April 28 of 2020, the number of people who have died from Covid 19 numbers to 213,707 people. Covid 19 has taken over the news and media and has even affected politics. This has influenced the lives of billions including mine.


I am a teen, specifically 14 years old. I have not gone outside for over a month. I’m not going to lie, as an introvert, this is basically my routine during the summertime. My parents both no longer go to work and also stay home. Usually, I never spend time with my parents all that often. However, I now have no choice but to spend time with them. For instance, this is the most interaction I have had for a long time. I feel very fortunate. Many people don’t have the luxury to stay home or don’t have the financial security to stop working. However, my family has both of those opportunities. This has allowed me to stay pretty unaffected.

On the matter of schoolwork, I have realized that I have a problem with procrastination. I usually leave a week's worth of work for just half a week to do. This is a bit stressful, but it’s still a lot less compared to normal school.


The only real problem with working at home is that I can’t figure out a good way to communicate with group members. Usually, I would just arrange for a time to meet my group members at a library to work on the project, but that is not a realistic solution now. Managing homework with my internship is not necessarily easy. I ended up doing all of my internship work on Sunday. I used to have to leave my Saturdays open because of MIT SEED Academy, but I often receive messages from SEED that even their online classes are also canceled. I spend the weekdays doing regular school work.


One uncertainty I have is about what to do next. I am uncertain about what to do in the summer since I can’t go outside. I usually spend my summer time at Boston Common or visiting my friends. Luckily, I have an instrument to play if I ever get bored. Previously, I never practiced playing with my instrument that much, because I never had the time to. However, I now feel that I can manage to take some time to improve my skills. I am also taking this time to learn how to make games. I call my family members who are not with me as often as I can. I keep connected with my friends by calling them over the phone to chat for a bit. We often play some games on Jackbox or Kahoot.


I am keeping myself safe by staying indoors and not going outside. I am practicing social distancing and washing my hands with soap very frequently. I make sure to keep in contact with friends and family to pass the time and stay connected. The thing I miss the most would be the ability to converse with people in person. It feels more personal and sincere. I want to give my thanks to all of the social and healthcare workers. They are truly heroes providing assistance during such a tragic time.


4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page