top of page
Search
  • squaretechtraining

Jason Mai


How Coronavirus affected my Life?


Over the past couple of months, many American’s lives were flipped upside down due to the spread of the novel coronavirus across the world. This virus has affected almost everybody, and what was “normal” is going to be very hard to return to. As for me, as a graduating senior in high school, the “new normal” has ruined many plans that were for seniors. For example, prom has been canceled, which was supposed to be one of the highlights of this school year. Schoolwork has been lax, but BLA has introduced a new schedule, which increased student workload significantly. Nowadays, due to this new schedule, I get up at 10 to attend classes until 1 in the afternoon. Afterward, I relax until 3:30, where I have to attend Square Tech workshops. After training is over, I eat dinner, play games with family, and do my work. I have followed this routine since quarantine started, and it isn’t that bad. Schoolwork and work from Square Tech do put quite a load on me, but it is manageable, as teachers are very flexible with due dates now. As for family time, we usually play cards or Super Mario Party, both of which are pretty fun.

For me, as a freshman entering college, there are a lot of uncertainties regarding how summer and school will work out. There is no solid time frame in which the pandemic will calm down, which forces a lot of speculation for the time to come. As things stand, some things will “return to normal,” but at least for the foreseeable future, there are no guarantees as to when things will return to the way it was. Sports, entertainment, just being outside without any worries, people will yearn for those. However, this is still a potential risk to all people, so for now, there would no certainty that those things will return.

For my family members that are not around me now, they call us through social media apps. Since they are from China, they have been through this quarantine, but they have mostly returned back to normal because the virus was not as widespread as it is here. They are curious to see what we are doing, and vice versa. For my friends, I talk to them through social media as well. We miss playing games, talking about sports, and roasting each other, but there’s nothing we can do about it.

Since I have a lot of free time on my hands now, I put a lot of time into finishing the games I haven’t finished. I also put a lot of time into games, for events and competitive play. One of those games is Smash Ultimate. On May 8th, I’m going to participate in my first official tournament. I don’t think I’ll do well, but I aim to try my best. I also get a chance to catch up on shows that I started but didn’t finish. However, if I finish all these things before my quarantine ends, then I’m going to be bored again.

At the end of the day, I think to myself, “When will this end?” Such uncertainty is always curious, but I know there isn’t much I can do. The only thing I can do is stay home to stop the spread, which I think is sufficient. I do miss hanging out with friends, but the safety of people comes first. That’s what I believe to keep myself positive.


Me and my dog.



3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page